Like on Facebook Follow @templetongate on Twitter  
-Site Search

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame Anthology
Volume One: Short Stories

Originally published in 1970, and recently reissued after a long time out of print, this volume consists of the stories receiving the most votes from the membership of the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) in a poll to honor works that had preceded the organization's beginnings in 1965. The anthology was edited by Robert Silverberg, who was the SFWA president at the time. This is a reproduction of the table of contents, and the stories are ordered by original publication date, beginning with the earliest.

A Martian Odyssey - Stanley G. Weinbaum
Twilight - John W. Campbell
Helen O'Loy - Lester del Rey
The Roads Must Roll - Robert A. Heinlein
Microcosmic God - Theodore Sturgeon
Nightfall - Isaac Asimov
The Weapon Shop - A. E. van Vogt
Mimsy Were the Borogoves - Lewis Padgett (Henry Kuttner & C. L. Moore)
Huddling Place - Clifford D. Simak
Arena - Frederic Brown
First Contact - Murray Leinster
That Only a Mother - Judith Merril
Scanners Live in Vain - Cordwainer Smith
Mars is Heaven! - Ray Bradbury
The Little Black Bag - C. M. Kornbluth
Born of Man and Woman - Richard Matheson
Coming Attraction - Fritz Leiber
The Quest for Saint Aquin - Anthony Boucher
Surface Tension - James Blish
The Nine Billion Names of God - Arthur C. Clarke
It's a Good Life - Jerome Bixby
The Cold Equations - Tom Godwin
Fondly Fahrenheit - Alfred Bester
The Country of the Kind - Damon Knight
Flowers for Algernon - Daniel Keyes
A Rose for Ecclesiastes - Roger Zelazny

Related Links:
The SF Hall of Fame, Volume Two: Novellas & Novelettes
The Fantasy Hall of Fame Anthology


Would you like to contribute an article on your favorite SF, Fantasy or Horror book or writer?
Just email me.

We would appreciate your support for this site with your purchases from and ReAnimusPress.


Robert Silverberg


Available from